Fiction

The contributions for the braille book ‘I remember my mother’ have so far been varied; hilarious, moving, muddled, direct, oblique, brief and lengthy, as you would expect a selection of thoughts from over 150 people to be. Linked by subject but differing hugely in style, detail and tense, the mother that is portrayed through these varied brief comments and memories is both present and absent, dead and alive. She is here right now, far away and died a long time ago. She is loving and disinterested, cruel and gentle, known and distant. 150 different mothers could all be one.

It could all be my fiction, it could all be taken on as your own. As her own.

I remember my Mother, She…:
I remember my Mother, She…: is stooping down with a trowel, gardening. In my memories of my childhood garden, a robin is always at my mother’s side, waiting patiently for worms.
I remember my Mother, She…: talks so much you could never forget her
I remember my Mother, She…:  was always late
 

Add your own contribution to the project https://giftsformothermnemosyne.wordpress.com/i-remember/

Leave a Reply

