Nostalgia 2

“nostalgia is the repetition that mourns the inauthenticity of all repetitions and denies the repetition’s capacity to define identity”.

 S. Boyn, Xvii

I remember my Mother, She...: could never get out of bed in the mornings
I remember my Mother, She...: she was once beautiful and vibrant but mental 
health and alcoholism rendered her difficult to love
I remember my Mother, She...: was always late
I remember my Mother, She...: has a mouth that does not naturally smile. She had a 
hard life said my father, I believed him. now I suspect his comment was slightly 
barbed, irony. She is changeable but immoveable in each change.
I remember my Mother, She...: talks so much you could never forget her
I remember my Mother, She...: wore white linen perfume

Leave a Reply

